The Hawthorn Band wdrum2as formed in 1888 and has operated continuously, through the depression and both World Wars to the present day. In 1933 the Band members constructed the band-room adjacent to the Glenferrie Oval before moving into the Ferguson stand directly behind the oval in 2010. The Band continues as a group of committed and dedicated performers of brass and percussion.

Hawthorn band is an organization where members enjoy both good music and the development of an unequalled team spirit. Recognised as a leader in Australia for maintaining the banding traditions of Northern England, the Hawthorn Band has also been willing to look outside the square, and challenge the dogma of the traditional banding movement when appropriate. Competition has been an integral part of the Bands history and development. In this area the Hawthorn Band is unequalled in Victoria and Australia. The Band consistently competes at all levels of competition, National, State, Regional and International. The Band has won 15 National titles in the last 40 years, as well as a string of Victorian and Regional titles. And it was in 1994 whilst touring America, that the Band was labelled Australias most recognised Brass Band.

The Band has enjoyed a strong history of dedicated conductors both in the contest arena, and on the concert stage. Names such as Squadron Leader Laurie Hicks, Major Peter Jackson, Ken McDonald and Tom Paulin all have brought their unique passion, drive, leadership and ambition to the band, qualities which continue through the current conductor and leadership group.